MOUG Distinguished Service Award

This award recognizes and honors someone who has made significant professional contributions to music users of OCLC. The MOUG Executive Board selects a recipient based on nominations received from the MOUG membership.

Eligibility for nomination is as follows:

  • Nominees must have made professional contributions that significantly address the needs and concerns of music-oriented users of OCLC’s products and services.
  • Nominees may be MOUG members, but membership in the organization is not a requirement.

The award recipient receives an engraved plaque containing an inscription recognizing his or her special contribution to the field, complimentary registration for the MOUG meeting at which the award is being presented, and a lifetime complimentary membership to MOUG.

Past recipients of this award are listed below.

Award Recipients

To read the text of the citation for each awardee, click on the name.

2024 — Charles Peters

2023 — Peter Lisius and Ralph Hartsock

2021 — Casey Mullin

2020 — No award.

2019 — Gary Strawn

2018 — Mark V. Scharff

2017 — Robert Cunningham

2016 — Neil Hughes

2015 — No award given

2014 — Paul Cauthen

2013 — Matt Montgomery

2012 — Phyllis Jones

2011 — Alice LaSota

2010 — no award given

2009 — Michelle “Mickey” Koth

2008 — no award given

2007 — Charles M. “Chuck” Herrold, Jr.

2006 — Bettie Jean Harden

2005 — A. Ralph Papakhian and Sue Ellen Stancu

2004 — Jay N. Weitz

2003 — Judy A. Weidow

2002 — Kathryn E. Burnett