The Music OCLC Users Group (MOUG) is now accepting applications for the Ralph Papakhian Travel Grant. The grant supports attendance at the annual MOUG meeting and, in recognition of Ralph’s mentoring role in music librarianship, is especially intended to support newer members of the profession in both public and technical services.

The award offers free conference registration for the MOUG annual meeting (February 19-20, 2019 in St. Louis, Missouri); reimbursement of up to $200 in associated expenses (lodging, meals, etc.); and one year’s free membership in MOUG, including three issues of the MOUG Newsletter.

Eligibility: Students, paraprofessionals, or professionals in the first five years of their professional careers who are likely to benefit from MOUG’s educational opportunities are eligible to apply. This includes everyone who works with music materials in libraries or library systems, whether they are music specialists or generalists. Professional and workplace need, financial need, past training and experience, demonstration of initiative, likely further contributions to the profession, and comments from reference letters are also considered. Applicants need not be current members of MOUG. Preference will be given to applicants who will be attending the MOUG annual meeting for the first time, but anyone who meets the preceding conditions and who has attended a previous MOUG annual meeting is eligible to apply. Preference will also be given to applicants who have not previously been awarded a Ralph Papakhian Travel Grant.

Applications are due October 1, 2018 and shall consist of a letter that includes a rationale for attending the MOUG annual meeting, an explanation of financial need, a brief vita, and the name of at least one person who will submit a letter (also due October 1) in support of the application.

All application materials shall be sent by e-mail, either as in-text messages or as attachments in .pdf, .doc, or .docx format, to the MOUG Past Chair, Casey Mullin ( Letters of support should be sent directly by their authors, not by the applicants. Applicants will be notified of the outcome by e-mail no later than November 1, 2018.