Call for nominations: 2020 MOUG Distinguished Service Award

Nominations are now being accepted for the 2020 Music OCLC Users Group (MOUG) Distinguished Service Award. This award recognizes and honors someone who has made significant professional contributions to music users of OCLC. The MOUG Executive Board selects a recipient based on nominations received from the MOUG membership.

Eligibility for nomination is as follows:

Nominees must have made professional contributions that significantly address the needs and concerns of music-oriented users of OCLC’s products and services.

Nominees may be MOUG members, but membership in the organization is not a requirement.

The nomination must be accompanied by a statement that provides supporting evidence of the nominee’s qualifications.

The award recipient will receive an engraved plaque containing an inscription recognizing his or her special contribution to the field, complimentary registration for the MOUG meeting at which the award is being presented, and a lifetime complimentary membership to MOUG.

Past recipients of this award are Gary Strawn (2019; Northwestern University), Mark Scharff (2018; Washington University in St. Louis), Robert Cunningham (2017; Boston Public Library), Neil Hughes (2016; University of Georgia), Paul Cauthen (2014; University of Cincinnati), Matt Montgomery (2013; OCLC, Inc.), Phyllis Jones (2012; Oberlin College), Alice LaSota (2011; University of Maryland–College Park), Michelle “Mickey” Koth (2009; Yale University), Charles M. “Chuck” Herrold, Jr. (2007; Carnegie Library of Pittsburgh), Jean Harden (2006; University of North Texas), Ralph Papakhian and Sue Stancu (joint recipients, 2005; Indiana University), Jay Weitz (2004; OCLC, Inc.), Judy Weidow (2003; University of Texas), and Kathryn E. (Kay) Burnett (2002; Smith College).

Nominations should be sent to Michelle Hahn at the address below by e-mail or U.S. mail. Nominations and accompanying statements must be received via email or postmarked no later than May 31, 2019. The Executive Board will select an award recipient at its summer Board meeting.

For more information about MOUG, please visit